CSA withdrawal

Food from my regular-season CSA, end of May

It’s hard to grow crops in the summer in Florida. Because of that, my CSA runs from October to May. I would get new food every two weeks, and the food would last two people eating vegetarian almost two weeks, give or take a few days. So that leaves me, for the first time since October, without produce.

The thought of having to go to the grocery store and buy all my food is daunting. I’m used to amazing and fresh produce being delivered to my door. I don’t have much say in what is delivered; I get it from the farm and make meals. Now I have an empty kitchen and blank mind for what to make. And after getting used to my picked-at-its-peak produce, the grocery store food seems so expensive and tasteless by comparison. (I think that is one reason I’m writing this blog and not shopping, like I should be.)

I know this sounds like a terrible thing to complain about, but it is something important to me I’ve grown accustomed to. Luckily, there is a summer CSA that will give me squash, greens, eggplant and melon. But that doesn’t start for six weeks. So until then, if you see me at Publix or Target, please help me figure out what food to make that week.

If you want more information on local produce in your area, I urge you to check out localharvest.org. It gives information about food stands, co-ops, CSAs, markets, restaurants, online stores and other resources. And CSAs are becoming a lot more flexible with deliveries, easy pickup spots, different size shares, shorter seasons and all kinds of things.

I started in the summer (a shorter season for my CSA) to see if it was right for me. And with my CSA you can drop out anytime if it doesn’t work out. Look at me, I’m hooked and lamenting the lack of produce in my life.

Where do you get most of your food?

4 thoughts on “CSA withdrawal

  1. In Northern California, we are very blessed to receive CSA shares March through November. I recently read that California produced 2/3 of the country’s fresh produce (or something like that), so likely you’re enjoying the same veggies we are!

    • I bet our food is similar! Being from Iowa, I was surprised to learn how much produce was grown in Florida, so we have opportunities for year-round (mostly) growing, which is a nice surprise.

  2. I totally agree about how it’s hard to plan meals without your CSA, especially after you get so used to being surprised every week. Shopping for fresh produce…blah! I’m hoping to post often about what I’m getting in my share every week. Since we are on opposite growing seasons – maybe we can look to each other for our ‘off CSA season’ inspirations! :P

    • I know, I love seeing what others are getting in other parts of the U.S. And every Saturday in the summer while I’m melting in South Florida, people up north are always posting pictures of their farmer market finds; I love it!

Leave a Reply

