Condiment: Cucumber relish

cucumber relish

Sweet cucumber relish

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to make my own condiments. I hadn’t done this beyond a basic vinaigrette, but when this sweet cucumber relish popped into my Google Reader, I had to try it no matter time or cost. Lucky for me, it was very easy and calls for basic ingredients.

The relish takes about 20 minutes of hands-on time, and is worth it. I’m glad I made this, and it has inspired me to start making other condiments. Even at more than two cups, this didn’t last long in our house, and I plant to make it again soon.

Sweet cucumber relish from Serious Eats

Makes 2 1/2 cups

Ingredients

  • 3 large cucumbers, washed, seeded and cut into large chunks
  • 2 medium white onions, quartered
  • 2 medium red bell peppers, seeded
  • 1 large green bell pepper, seeded
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 1 cup cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons mustard seed
  • 2 teaspoons celery seed

Directions

  1. Grate the cucumbers using the grating disc in a food processor. Switch to the steel blade and pulse until cucumber is finely chopped. Repeat with onions and peppers.
  2. Place chopped cucumbers, onions and peppers in a medium bowl and mix in salt. Cover and allow to sit overnight.
  3. Pour vegetable mixture out into fine mesh strainer. Rinse under cold water and strain, pushing the vegetables against the side of the strainer using a rubber spatula to remove as much water as possible.
  4. In a medium saucepan bring vinegar, sugar, mustard seed and celery seed to a boil over medium high heat, stirring to dissolve the sugar. Add vegetable mixture, reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Let cool to room temperature, transfer relish to an airtight container and store in the refrigerator.

I have plans in the very near future to make a variety of other condiments, so keep an eye out here!

If you are interested in trying your hand at condiments (I would love to hear about it!), some good resources are Serious Eats, The Kitchn, Chow and (to my surprise) Salon.

Have you ever made condiments?¬† What is your favorite condiment? I’m undecided about which to make next, so if there is one you want me to try and report how it turned out, please let me know.

One thought on “Condiment: Cucumber relish

  1. Pingback: Making mustard | Words from a visual journalist

Leave a Reply

