Trying Mac’n Food Truck

First time at Mac'n Food Truck. Worth the wait.

For months I’ve anticipated the arrival of South Florida’s first vegan food truck. About two weeks after its debut, I was able to try it tonight.

There was a food truck roundup in Boca Raton featuring 30-plus trucks, including Mac’n Food Truck. The food is vegan “serving up a twist on soul food classics.”

I arrived at the event and it was packed with people. I finally found the Mac’n truck, and it had one of the longest lines of any of the trucks. I took this as a good sign, hoping for good food (obviously) serving a (vegan) market that wasn’t being served. Either way, I had the time and determination to wait it out.

I got in line at 7:05 and ordered my food at 7:45. I was really hoping it would rain to thin the line, but it only sprinkled. I waited another 10 minutes for my food to be ready. Since the truck meetup was a big event and the food truck is based in Coral Gables (nearly an hour drive south) I didn’t mind the wait. Hopefully I get a chance to eat at the truck again and won’t have to wait as long.

Clockwise from bottom: mac and cheese, fried green tomatoes, fried okra.

I decided on a cheddar mac with two sides, fried green tomatoes and fried okra. The food was hot, and the “cheese” all gooey. I don’t have a lot of experience with vegan cheese, but this was really good. The sides were crusted and fried well, and weren’t mushy or soggy, something that can happen to green tomatoes and okra if not cooked properly (trust me, I know firsthand). Having lived in Georgia for two years, I was loving this as I didn’t need to worry if the sides were vegetarian. I hope it keeps going strong and has an audience to keep the truck going.

Other trucks

I’ve been to one other food truck event, and have sought out South Florida trucks that offer vegetarian foods. At the last food truck event, I went to a crepemaker that didn’t have any savory vegetarian crepes on the menu but made something off the menu for me. If a truck has a style of food that seems like it can be vegetarian, just ask. The people who run the trucks seem very friendly and willing to serve.

Also, if you are looking for a vegetarian food truck in your town or a town you plan to visit this summer (like me!), in the July/August issue, Vegetarian Times has a list of vegetarian and special diet food trucks (I can’t find it online, though). And if you are into vegetarian food trucks, I have a twitter list of vegetarian food trucks in the U.S. and vegetarian-friendly food trucks in South Florida. (If you have any to add, please let me know, this list is in no way exhaustive.)

Have you had a great food truck experience? What is the food truck scene like where you live?

2 thoughts on “Trying Mac’n Food Truck

  1. Pingback: Trying Veggie Xpress food truck | Words from a visual journalist

  2. oh my goodness, this looks amazing! that mac ‘n cheese? yum! thanks for your comment on my blog the other day. the next time I’m in Florida, I’m totally hitting this up! maybe I’ll even plan a trip?? no, wait, that’s a bit excessive haha. ;)

Leave a Reply

