Lentil samosas

This blog post started out as “uses for egg roll wrappers (that aren’t egg rolls),” but once I made these lentil samosas, I knew they deserved their own post. That, and I used all the egg roll wrappers to make this because they were so good I couldn’t stop!

But other uses will be an upcoming blog post.

I’ve been wanting to make samosas for a while. Samosas, for those who don’t know, are stuffed pastries popular in Asia and India. I figured a vegetarian samosa would include potato, peas and onions and, while that is good and all, when I saw this recipe for lentil and onion samosas (and since I wanted to use egg roll wrappers anyway) I knew I was going to make it.

The recipe isn’t hard, it’s just a little time-consuming. Especially if, like me, you triple the recipe because you like it so much. Sometimes I get carried away and say I’m going to make a lot of something and freeze it for later, and then I am stuck doing the prep work forever. But when I have an awesome frozen meal or snack in the freezer for later, the time is worth it. Am I the only one who does this?

Anyway, so not only is the food great and easy, but if you read the story from the woman who shares this recipe, she tells of making these with her mother when she was young as a beautiful memory. Reading the post, I can tell her love of the meal and her mother, and it’s wonderful she shares it with us. And now I share it with you.

Lentil samosas with a green salad and butternut squash fries

Lentil Stuffed Samosas

Makes 10-12

Ingredients

Filling

  • 1 cup lentils
  • 1/2 cup spring onions, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup mint leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 cup coriander leaves, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp cayenne powder
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp roasted cumin powder
  • Salt to taste

Glue

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp water
  • Egg roll wrappers (4 square sheets cut into 3 inch rectangles)

Directions

  1. Boil the lentils in water until they are cooked through but still retain the shape. Completely drain the lentils so no water is left. It helps to keep the lentils in sieve for 10-15 minutes. Mix all the ingredients in the filling with a light hand so as to not break the lentils and keep aside.
  2. Mix the ingredients for glue and keep aside.
  3. Cut the egg roll wrappers into 3 inch wide rectangles. Cover it with a damp cloth while working with it so it doesn’t dry out.
  4. Holding the rectangular pastry at the middle, take the bottom left corner and fold it towards the right into a triangle. Then take the bottom corner of the triangle you just formed and pull it upwards towards the left into another triangle to form a cone.
  5. Fill about 2 tbsp of filling into the triangle and pressing it down with your finger.
  6. Once you fill the cone, take the bottom left corner up towards the right side. Then brush the flour and water glue on the end of the pastry and fold over the top of the filled triangle to seal.
  7. It’s important that the samosa is completely sealed so oil doesn’t seep into the filling while frying. If you see any openings close it with the glue mixture.
  8. Heat oil in a wok and drop the triangles in it. They are done when light golden brown, a few minutes each side. Serve with ketchup.

A few of these were perfect with a side salad and butternut squash fries. What are those, you ask? I came up with butternut squash fries to tame my overflow butternut squash. They are more fry-shaped roasted squash, sprinkled with olive oil and salt, then baked at 400° for 30 minutes in the oven. But they are addictive and I trick myself into thinking I’m eating fries.

What is your favorite alternate use for an egg roll wrapper? Or if there is something you want me to try for my upcoming post and report back on, please let me know!

4 thoughts on “Lentil samosas

  1. Oooh these look so good! I’ve been thinking of trying lentil empanadas which would be similar since empanadas were one of my favs pre-vegan. I’ll have to figure out a no-egg option but this has inspired me to figure out a recipe. Never thought of butternut squash fries either – love it!

Leave a Reply

