New Year’s resolutions 2012: Running

I’m not much for resolutions (improvement should be ongoing and can start at any time), but I will admit the beginning of a year is a good time to reflect on the past year and think about what personal goals one might have for the coming year.

Last year my main goal was to make all my food. I don’t make all my food, but I sure make a lot of it, and I’ve tried new and better foods because of it. I’m still doing that at a level I’m (mostly) happy with.

This year I plan to focus on improving my running. In less than half a year I’ve gone from thinking of running to running my first two 5ks in 20 hours to wanting to continue and expand. I have listed a few things off the top of my head that I would like to achieve/improve upon this year. If you are a runner, Runner’s World has a good article on common resolutions and how to achieve them. (See what I did there? I read Runner’s World now!)

General improvement

Since running my races the first weekend in December, I haven’t seen improvement in either my speed or distance. I’m not sure if it’s because mentally I know I won’t run another race for a month or what, but I seem to have hit a plateau and it’s discouraging. I’m still getting out and running, but I really hope to improve either my speed or distance overall this year. Which brings me to my next point:

Run a longer race

Right after I ran my second 5k, my friend said we should run a 10k next year. At the time, I was just happy to get through that weekend, but looking back I’m up for the challenge. I am not sure I can do more than a 10k and don’t have plans for more now, but I think that might be my next goal, if I can find a good race.

Run a fun race somewhere else

I’m open to anything, but ideally it would be a “big race” for the area and isn’t on flat ground and has different landscape. I know running somewhere other than where the elevation only changes 5 feet during my race will be a challenge within itself.

Keep running in the Florida summer

I started in the summer and it was difficult, but I wasn’t that steady of a runner. Now I run a few miles three or four times a week, but when the weather warms up, I don’t know how I’m going to take it. I’ll somehow forge ahead.

What resolutions or goals have you set for yourself this year?

4 thoughts on “New Year’s resolutions 2012: Running

  1. Pingback: Halfway through 2012 update | Words from a visual journalist

  2. Pingback: 10k complete | Words from a visual journalist

  3. When I have to deal with a lot of heat I get a bandana wet and tie it around my neck. (At home I just get my whole shirt wet, but I don’t suggest wearing that look out…) There are a lot of blood vessels in the neck and the evaporation really keeps you cool. It might help you beat the heat.

Leave a Reply

