Banana-yogurt parfait

Already a big fan of frozen banana “ice cream” (one frozen sliced banana blended with a room-temperature banana to create a sweet cream) when I’m looking for a sweet treat, I was drawn to this healthy parfait (my picture doesn’t do it justice) when I found it on Pinterest. (Show of hands: Who tries lots of new foods based on the awesome Pinterest pictures?!?)

The parfait uses the “ice cream” as a base and is layered with Chia gel*, Greek yogurt, sliced banana, honey and cinnamon. It’s like a Greek sweet and tangy dessert, and if anything, I feel healthier eating it!

It was the perfect, simple treat to end a day that started with running my first 10k and I will definitely add it to my quick, sweet treats rotation. Get the recipe here.

*Chia gel is Chia seeds and about 3 times as much water soaked for about 12 hours, resulting in a gel. Chia seeds are high in protein, fiber and Omega 3. The gel can be used in drinks, oatmeal, baked goods or the gel can be eaten alone as a great workout gel, among other things.

2 thoughts on “Banana-yogurt parfait

  1. Chia seeds are so much fun! This sounds really tasty. Someone once suggested to me soaking the chia seeds in chocolate non-dairy milk instead of water to make sort of chia pudding. I bet that would be awesome with the banana!

Leave a Reply

