Shortcut cinnamon rolls

I’m not a huge fan of sweets, but when the mood hits, I need to make something that is quick and easy. And although I try to eat few processed foods, I keep returning in the dairy aisle to the tube of pre-made crescent rolls. So bad yet so buttery, flaky and good. And they make a quick breakfast, side dish or dessert so darn easy.

I’m sure it’s very easy to make crescent rolls. I’ve seen recipes and every other bread item I’ve made is simple and minimal hands-on time, it just needs time (and planning) to rise. But when I want crescent rolls, I want them NOW, so the pre-made variety always wins. Call it my guilty, processed pleasure (and why the easy chocolate croissants and apple brie bites are awesome)!

I came up with the idea to make cinnamon rolls but replace the frosting with peanut butter frosting. Much more my style. I modified the original recipe, which makes the rolls from scratch, if you want to do that. Or if you want to take it up a notch, April’s Bon Appetit features a huge, gooey sticky bun on it’s cover, with a few recipes from the same dough.

Anyway, back to my recipe. I’ve had some success modifying crescent rolls before, so I figured this cinnamon roll recipe would work well. They did and it’s super easy to make.

Roll out one tube cinnamon rolls on a flat nonstick surface. Press the seams together so it’s one big sheet. Stir together one tablespoon melted butter, 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 3/4 teaspoon sugar. Brush it around the crescent roll sheet, leaving about an inch clear on all sides.

Take one shorter end and roll tight toward the other shorter end. Cut into eight pinwheel rolls. Place on a greased sheet or pan. Bake at 375┬░ for about 15 minutes, until golden brown.

While the roll is cooking, make the frosting put 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon peanut butter and 2-3 tablespoons milk into a bowl. Mix until smooth.

When the rolls are done, let them cool for a few minutes and then frost.

And if you have extra frosting (or make more to have extra) like I did, you can make another treat. I used mine to make apple nachos! Slice apples and put them on a plate. Pour the frosting over them and sprinkle whatever extras you might like. I used cocoa nibs but you could use nuts, sprinkles, dry fruit or marshmallows, to name a few.

Leave a Reply

