What I’m into now: Rice bowl

Recently, I’ve been eating a lot of rice bowls. This dish is nothing fancy, but it’s easy to make and tasty. Really it’s just a grain base with tons of veggies in it. You can also throw in tofu or beans for protein.

This dish is highly customizable so you don’t get bored, and it works well at the end of a food’s life span. And to keep things simple, I make all my food at the same time. I boil the water in one pot and cook the grains on one burner. Another burner is used to saute the kale. And my George Foreman grill is going for all the veggies I’m using. Those could be sautéed, too, but I like the deeper flavors when it’s grilled. You could also marinate any veggies (or tofu) you are using.

When everything was cooked I put it into a big bowl, where I put on a few dashes of soy sauce and mixed everything around. Or you could use oil and vinegar, dressing or anything else that would go with the combo you are making. I’ve made this a few times in the past few weeks, and love trying different flavors.

My combination was more Asian, but you could do Latin with black beans and hot sauce or Southern with barbeque and tofu.

What have you been eating and loving recently?

4 thoughts on “What I’m into now: Rice bowl

  1. Pingback: Tangy barbecue sauce | Words from a visual journalist

  2. I can see why you’ve been into bowls. They’re so versatile and a complete meal. Lately, I’ve been into asparagus. It’s widely available at the farmer’s market, and I’ve been eating it almost daily now that it’s in season. It’s one of my favorite vegetables, but knowing it has such a small window of availability makes me want to eat it as much as possible while I can.

Leave a Reply

