Tangy barbecue sauce

After a too-long hiatus on making my own condiments, I decided to tackle barbecue sauce.

Barbecue sauce is a very personal choice. There are almost as many variations on barbecue sauce as there are people who eat it. I don’t like mine too sticky or sweet. So when I found a tangy coffee sauce recipe that sounded good, I figure it was time to try it. All it calls for is to mix a few basic ingredients together and simmer. I can do that!

It took less than 20 minutes to make the sauce, and not long to eat it all. Once the sauce was cool, I poured it over tofu to marinade. I then made baked tofu and added it to grains and veggies for a quick and easy rice bowl.

Tangy coffee barbecue sauce

Makes about 2 cups

Ingredients

  • 1 cup no-salt-added ketchup (I used store bought since I don’t use it much, but you could make your own)
  • 1 cup brewed coffee
  • 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder (I grated some fresh onion)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder(I grated some fresh garlic)
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons black pepper
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons lower-sodium soy sauce

Directions

  1. Combine ketchup, coffee, brown sugar, onion powder, garlic powder and chili powder in a small saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until slightly thickened, stirring occasionally.
  2. Remove from heat; stir in pepper, balsamic vinegar and soy sauce.

Other barbecue sauce recipes (I haven’t tried these but they all sound good):

What is your favorite style of barbecue sauce?

One thought on “Tangy barbecue sauce

Leave a Reply

